Member Financial Institutions

All licensed deposit-taking financial institutions operating in Guyana are required by law to be members of the Deposit Insurance Scheme. The members are required to make premium payments into the Fund. The Fund will be used to reimburse depositors in the event of a bank failure. There are currently eight (8) financial institutions which are members of the Scheme:

  1. Republic Bank (Guyana) Limited
  2. Guyana Bank for Trade & Industry Limited
  3. Bank of Nova Scotia (Guyana branch)
  4. Demerara Bank Limited
  5. Citizens Bank Guyana Inc.
  6. Bank of Baroda (Guyana) Inc.
  7. The New Building Society Limited
  8. Hand-in-Hand Trust Corporation Inc.